[Best_Wordpress_Gallery id=”14″]

From March 7th – March 10th 2019 Canadian Championships was held at Markham Pan Am Centre Markham, Ontario

Ontario players dominated at the Senior Canadian Championships. All five major gold medals won athletes from Ontario, ten titles out of eleven goes to Ontario. Eugene Zhen Wang and Siqian Wu are Canadian Champions in single events. Their experience and superior performance level was too high obstacles for finalist Antoine Bernadet (men’s single) and Sophie Gauthier (women’s single) from Quebec.

Two youngsters, Jeremy Hazin and  Joyce Xu reached semi-finals.

Hazin, 2018 Canadian champion, lose semi-final against Bernadet can be seen as a surprise.

Joyce Xu earned the bronze medal by defeating second seed Ivy Liao (BC) in quarter-finals in seven sets. After leading 2:0 and 3:2 she had found strength to won the marathon with just 11:8 in seventh game.

May Tong, 2018 Canadian Champion, has lost her quarter-final match against  Gauthier also in 7th game match. On the other hand, Tong and her double partner dominated in women’s double. Other double winners were Eugene Wang / Jeremy Hazin (men’s double) and Hongtao Chen / Siqian Wu (women’s double).

Most of veterans players were from Ontario so it is not surprise that Oleg Martens (over 40), Stephan Carbonneau (over 50), Mark Pang (over 60) and Sherry Wang (women’s veterans) won the titles. Mark Pang is also the bronze medalist from the 2018 World Veterans Championships in Las Vegas.

Terence Yeung won under 21 men and Joyce Xu and Kelly Zhao bronze medal in under 21 women. “

Click here for all results

Ontario Members Results:

Men’s Single:
  • Eugene Zhen Wang – Gold
  • Jeremy Hazin – Bronze
Women’s Single:
  • Siqian Wu – Gold
  • Joyce Xu – Bronze
Men’s Double:
  • Jeremy Hazin, Eugene Zhen Wang – Gold
  • Alexander Bu, Jian Fei Sun, Terence Yeung – Bronze
Women’s Double:
  • May Tong, Vicky Yu Xia – Gold
  • Siqian Wu, Joyce Xu – Bronze
Mixed Double:
  • Hongtao Chen, Siqian Wu – Gold
  • Terence Yeung, Joyce Xu – Bronze


U21 Men:
  • Terence Yeung – Gold
U21 Women:
  • Joyce Xu, Kelly Zhao – Bronze


Men’s Veteran 40:
  • Oleg Martens – Gold
  • Mark Pang – Silver
  • Stephan Carbonneau, Sanjeev Chopra – Bronze
Men’s Veteran 50:
  • Stephan Carbonneua – Gold
  • Oleg Martens – Silver
  • Sanjeev Chopra – Bronze
Men’s Veteran 60:
  • Mark Pang – Gold
  • Zeljko Odorcic – Silver
  • Main-Lai Wong – Bronze
Women’s Veteran:
  • Sherry Wang – Gold
  • Gloria Lam – Bronze